Disclaimer: I’m aware that there are plenty of artists that are passionate about their music and write their own songs, etc etc. Don’t get your panties in a wad. :]

I’m just going to jump right in here:

What happened to the celebration that was the core of the classic rock era?
I’m into many different types of music. Honestly. My tastes span the spectrum, but my heart lies mostly in the 70s and 80s.
Nowadays, people my age couldn’t pick Slash out of a crowd and they think Jim Morrison is a hobbit from Lord of the Rings; Steven Tyler is their older brother’s name and they don’t know of Dio, but they think it’s in Italy. The only classic rock song they can name is Smoke on the Water or Back in Black, the only reason they like the Beatles is because Beatles Rock Band came out, and they equate Paramore with Heart.

I mourn for those individuals.

Most of my friends have their radios turned to 94.1 before they pick me up (our local classic rock station), and they always ask me why I’m so partial to the oldies. I always think about it for a minute, and then explain that there’s just something…genuine about the sounds created in that time period. To me, this music is a celebration. It’s exciting, playful, fun, clever, pure adrenaline; it’s just good music. I miss the days when you wrote your own songs and figured them out on your Les Paul, then blew out stadiums. I wasn’t even AROUND for those days and I long for them. It seems that nowadays, music is played AT you; “Listen to me go, I’m so great, Imma win an MTV music award because teenie-boppers like my hair.” I get a more intimate vibe from classic music. When they were playing that music on the stage, they weren’t just on stage. Go watch them. They’re jumping around, going crazy…they were in that music, right in the middle, creating the very essence that they experienced WITH you. They layered harmony atop harmony atop harmony, and threw in an improv guitar solo to boot. Look at Led Zeppelin; they made up a lot of live performances on the spot. Their ability to improvise is true talent. They were going with the flow and playing what came out of them, not what they’d recorded with a synthesizer and autotune** in a studio. These bands may have been in it for sex and drugs, but they were also in it because they loved music enough to get up and do something about it. Now it’s a big money thing for some artists, and I know that detracts from the passion of the music.

Now, don’t look at me and list every single indie artist and alternative rock group you know that you connect with on a deeper level. I’m not saying T.Swift doesn’t write her own songs or that B.J. Armstrong doesn’t really play the guitar. They do. And furthermore, there is an exception to every rule. I’m simply wondering why they just don’t make music like they used to.

**and WTF is up with autotune? It used to be a cool, useful tool. Part of music is being on-pitch. It’s an art AND a science.
Being on-pitch consistently shows a lot of talent (and not to mention care and respect for the quality of the music)in a big way. Now, it doesn’t particularly matter if you screw up half of your song, because if it can’t be completely patched up with autotune, it’ll just sound cool anyway. Let’s release it.
No, no, no, no, no! :[
Autotuning strips all of the raw emotion (3:03 especially, if you click on that link) out of a voice. Honestly, I’d rather have a slightly flawed recording than a creepy robotic one.

I guess the entire point of this rant is that I wish the larger than life, epic (in all connotations and denotations of the word), passionate, simply kick ASS music that just isn’t around anymore could come back. :/ Even the power ballads are better than a lot of today’s stuff. The music videos are funny and just pure fun, everything about it is, well, a celebration!

Musics to leave you with:

Guns n Roses – Knockin\’ on Heaven\’s Door

Van Halen – Hot for Teacher

Bon Jovi – Always

Fleetwood Mac – Rhiannon

